John Bapst New Year's Tournament

01.10.13 Thirty-one players turned out in five sections for Maine's first tournament of the new year at the John Bapst New Year's Tournament played on January 6th, 2013 at John Bapst Memorial High School in Bangor. Winners were: Roger Morin (Quad 1), Curt Brock (Quad 2), William Ravn (Quad 3), J. Paul Ciarrocchi and Matthew Spear (U1200) and Vetri Vel (U600).

The John Bapst New Year's tournament room in the library at John Bapst Memorial High School in Bangor.

Thanks to Brian Roderick for contributing to this report.

USCF crosstable of this event

The John Bapst New Year's tournament got the chess calendar in Maine off to a great start. The tournament was directed by Steve Wong and organized by Andy Bryan.

In Quad 1, Roger Morin took first with 2.5 points in three games. UMaine student Max Berube, who finished with 1.5 points, played Morin to a draw in round three. Trailing the leaders were Lance Beloungie and Tom Sandford both who scored 1.0 point.

Curt Brock won Quad 2 with 2.5 points. He was followed by George Spahn with 2.0 points, Dan DeLuca (1.5) and Brian Roderick who went scoreless.

William Ravn went unbeaten and untied in Quad 3 with 3.0 points. Cameron Wendell, John Morgan and Haley DeLuca Lowell rounded out the quad.

J. Paul Ciarrocchi and John Bapst student Matthew Spear shared first in the U1200 section with 3.5 points in four games. Lois Morin took third with 2.5 points.

Verti Vel was perfect in four games to win the eleven-player U600 section. He was trailed by Isaac Dinnerstein and Cyrus Grindal who tied for second/third place with 3.0 points.

Thanks to the director, organizer, John Bapst High School, parents, coaches and players for making this a successful event.

Roger Morin (left) and Tom Sandford enjoy their game in a private room off the library.

Lance Beloungie (left) and Max Berube take a look at the possibilities in their recently finished game.

The game in progress.

Parents had an opportunity to catch up on e-mails, texts, Facebook and Twitter while the games progressed.

And kids did their own thing between rounds.

Tournament organizer Andy Bryan (right) confers with TD Steve Wong before the start of a round.

Winners in the U1200 section (left to right): Matthew Spear (equal first), Lois Morin (third) and J. Paul Ciarrocchi (equal first).

Winners in the U600 section (left to right): Cyrus Grindal (equal second), Isaac Dinnerstein (equal second) and Vetri Vel (first).

Curt Brock (left) plays Dan DeLuca in round one.

Chess club is just one of the many activities at John Bapst Memorial High School.

Thanks to all for participating in Maine's first tournament of 2013.

Post a comment

  • Navigation: