Maine Chess Player of the Year

2017 Maine Chess Player of the Year Final Standings Updated April 9, 2018

• To be listed as a participating CPY event, organizers will pay $15 per event.

• Current MECA membership is required. Only players with current MECA membership during the event may accumulate CPY points from a CPY designated event. Players are responsible for verifying current status and joining or renewing if needed. Status and renewal will be managed by the MECA Secretary.

• MECA members will receive $2.00 off the entry fee of Maine Chess Player of the Year tournaments!

• Competition is open to all MECA members in any tournament section.

• CPY points are awarded for tournament scores plus tournament games played or forced byes; no score or game points are awarded for requested byes.

• Players may play in as many CPY tournaments as they wish.

• CPY scores will be calculated from all nine (9) tournaments on the calendar.

• Prizes will be $100/1st, $50/2nd and $25 for Class B, Class C and Class D or below

• The Maine Chess Player of the Year traveling trophy is presented to the first place winner to hold for the following year, and the winner's name will be added to the trophy. A printed certificate will also be presented to the winner.

If you have any questions about the CPY competition, your MECA membership, or upcoming CPY events, please contact a member of the MECA Policy Board as listed on the MECA page of

We look forward to seeing you over the board!

The Maine Chess Association
President Michael Dudley
Vice President Dan DeLuca
Secretary Open
Treasurer Shannon Levesque
Directors: Matthew Fishbein, Wyatt Hendrix, Phil Lowell, Barry Magda

Maine Chess Player of the Year Winners
2017 Ben Mock, Holden
2016 Jarod Bryan, Augusta
2015 Jarod Bryan, Augusta
2014 Lance Beloungie, Caribou
2013 Roger Morin, Houlton
2012 Jarod Bryan, Augusta
2011 Roger Morin, Houlton
2008 Barry Magda, West Gardiner
2007 Ruben Babayan, Portland
2006 Lee Doucette, Portland
2005 Jarod Bryan, Waterville
2004 Ralph Townsend, Holden
2002 Ruben Babayan, Portland
2001 Ruben Babayan, Portland
2000 Ruben Babayan, Portland
1999 Jon Buxton, West Gardiner
1998 Joe Wrba, Kennebunk
1997 Ruben Babayan, Portland
1996 Gary Mitchell, Saco; Ruben Babayan, Portland
1995 Michael Moore, Mt. Vernon
1994 Joe Robillard, Lewiston

Related Links

2016 Maine Chess Player of the Year Final Standings

2015 Maine Chess Player of the Year Final Standings

Lance Beloungie is 2014 Maine Chess Player of the Year!

2013 Maine Chess Player of the Year Final Results

Jarod Bryan wins Maine Chess Player of the Year 2012

Roger Morin wins Maine Chess Player of the Year 2011

Maine Chess Player of the Year 2008 Final Standings

Babayan shares 1st at Maine Open; wins 2007 Player of the Year

Maine Chess Player of the Year 2007 Final Results

Lee Doucette is Maine Chess Player of the Year for 2006.


Hi Dan. I noticed on the ME Chessplayer of the Year 2015 and 2016 I was listed as living in "Gardiner", but that is incorrect. I have lived in Augusta continuously since 2012. Could you please update? Thank you.

I'm wondering if there will be a date of the downeast open soon so I can take time off work to participate in it. Totally looking forward to it, thanks.

Hi Dan...I've searched everywhere and I can't find the the list for up coming tournaments for player of the year after june...and where are the latest results?I would like to see all results from tournament to tournament.thanks....roger

Hi Roger,

The most up-to-date POY info I have is posted here:

Congratulations to Barry Magda, who played some solid chess this year. If you want to challenge Barry to a blitz game, he holds court weekly at Barnes & Noble in Augusta each Tuesday evening.

I want to relearn chess as I have forgotten much. I used to play about 15 years ago. I moved to Maine 10 years ago from NYC and need a place that I can come to and play and begin all over. Thanks for any help you may send me.

Post a comment

  • Navigation: