Sunday, September 2, 2018: Alan Schalk Simultaneous Chess Exhibition, Old Orchard Beach

National Chess Master and two-time Maine State Chess Champion Alan Schalk will hold a free Simultaneous Chess Exhibition at the Wagon Wheel Campground in Old Orchard Beach starting at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, September 2, 2018. Players should bring chess sets as there are very limited supplies available. Pre-registration or sign-up is not necessary. Rules of play: Challengers will set-up their boards with the challenger playing the black pieces. Challengers should only make their move when Alan appears at the board. Challengers are allowed a single pass if they are not prepared to move when it's thier turn during play. Quiet consultation between players is okay. No computers.


Second Annual Crusader Cup Championship: 9/8/18, 10/27/18, 1/5/19, 5/4/19, Bangor

More Information


Saturday, September 8, 2018: Bapst End of Summer Tournament, Bangor

More Information

Pre-Registrants List


Saturday, September 8, 2018: New Brunswick Quick Chess (G/40) Championship, Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

More Information


Saturday, September 15, 2018: Saco Quick Chess, Saco

More Information


Saturday, September 22, 2018: Houlton Invitational Chess Tournament, Houlton

More Information


Saturday, October 13, 2018: Brewer Community School/National Chess Day Tournament, Brewer

More Information


Saturday, October 27, 2018: Bapst Fall Tournament, Bangor

More Information


Saturday, November 3, 2018: Chess Madness at MCI, Pittsfield

More Information


Saturday, December 2, 2018: MECA Policy Board Meeting, Online and in Bangor

Please join us for a MECA Policy Board meeting at 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, December 2, 2018. The meeting will take place online via the Zoom app and in person at John Bapst Memorial High School in Room 308. If you would like to attend via Zoom, please send an email to dcdeluca@yahoo.com with MECA Meeting in the Subject line. You will receive an email with an invitation to the meeting.


Saturday, December 8, 2018: 14th Annual Aurora Winter Solstice, Aurora

More Information


Saturday, January 5, 2019: Bob Solinger Memorial Tournament, Bangor

More Information


Saturday, February 2, 2019: Maine Scholastic Girls Championship & Maine Women's Open Championship, Bangor

More Information

Pre-Registrants List


Saturday, February 9, 2019: Panther Scholastic & Open, Waldoboro

More Information


Saturday, February 16, 2019: Maine Scholastic Girls Championship & Maine Women's Open Championship *Snow Date*, Bangor

If the Maine Scholastic Girls Championship & Maine Women's Open Championship scheduled for Saturday, February 2, 2019 is cancelled due to snow, it will be held on Saturday, February 16, 2019 instead.


Saturday, March 2, 2019: Scholastic Team Championships, Bangor

More information coming soon.


Saturday, March 23, 2019: Claude E. Webber Memorial Cup, Buxton

More information coming soon.


Saturday, March 30, 2019: Scholastic Individual Championships, Bangor

More information coming soon.


Saturday, May 4, 2019: John Bapst Open, Bangor

More Information


  • Navigation: