Second Annual Crusader Cup Championship: 9/8/18, 10/27/18, 1/5/19, 5/11/19, Bangor

More Information


Saturday, December 15, 2018: Nutcracker Blitz, Limington

More Information


Monday, December 17, 2018: Ellsworth Elementary Middle School K-8 Chess, Ellsworth

Come and enjoy an afternoon of non-rated, fun chess at Ellsworth Elementary Middle School at 20 Forest Avenue in Ellsworth from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. This is the first date of three.


Thursday, December 20, 2018: Bapst Impromptu Swiss #14, Bangor

More Information


Saturday & Sunday, December 22-23, 2018: New Hampshire Senior Championship, Manchester, NH

More Information


Saturday, January 5, 2019: Bob Solinger Memorial Tournament, Bangor

More Information

Pre-Registrants List


Tuesday, January 8, 2019: Ellsworth Elementary Middle School K-8 Chess, Ellsworth

Come and enjoy an afternoon of non-rated, fun chess at Ellsworth Elementary Middle School at 20 Forest Avenue in Ellsworth from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. This is the second date of three.


Monday, January 21, 2019: 20th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Day Chess Tournament, Old Town

More Information


Saturday, January 26, 2019: Maine State Blitz Championship, Hermon

More Information


Friday, February 1, 2019: Simul and Lecture with WGM Sabina Foisor

More Information

Simul Pre-Registrants List

● 4:30 PM: Simultaneous Exhibition in Sekera Auditorium at John
Bapst Memorial High School, 100 Broadway, Bangor, Maine.
○ Open to all players under 1800
○ Limited to 40 players
○ Rules given at the venue
○ Suggested donation of $20 per seat

● 7 PM: Exclusive lecture and coaching session for Girls' and Women's
Championship participants in Sekera Auditorium to follow;
donations welcome but not required.

● Contact Michael Dudley at mainechesspresident@gmail.com for
more information!

Woman Grandmaster Sabina Foisor is the 2017 US Women's Chess
Champion and US Chess 2017 Woman Player of the Year. She has been
named one of the Top 30 Under 30 in Games by Forbes Magazine.


Saturday, February 2, 2019: Maine Scholastic Girls Championship & Maine Women's Open Championship, Bangor

More Information

Pre-Registrants List


Saturday, February 9, 2019: Panther Scholastic & Open, Waldoboro

More Information


Tuesday, February 12, 2019: Ellsworth Elementary Middle School K-8 Chess, Ellsworth

Come and enjoy an afternoon of non-rated, fun chess at Ellsworth Elementary Middle School at 20 Forest Avenue in Ellsworth from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. This is the third date of three.


Saturday, February 16, 2019: Maine Scholastic Girls Championship & Maine Women's Open Championship *Snow Date*, Bangor

If the Maine Scholastic Girls Championship & Maine Women's Open Championship scheduled for Saturday, February 2, 2019 is cancelled due to snow, it will be held on Saturday, February 16, 2019 instead.


Saturday, February 23, 2019: All Saints Winter Warm-Up Tournament, Bangor

More Information


Saturday, March 2, 2019: Scholastic Team Championships, Bangor

Details and Registration Information


Saturday, March 23, 2019: Claude E. Webber Memorial Cup, Buxton

More information coming soon.


Saturday, March 30, 2019: Scholastic Individual Championships, Bangor

More information coming soon.


2019 Maine Chess Player of the Year Series

The 2019 Maine Chess Player of the Year Series will consist of the following tournaments:

MAINE STATE OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP: April 27-28, 2019, location TBD.

DOWNEAST OPEN: May 4, 2019, Bonny Eagle Middle School, Buxton, ME.

CHESSMAINE.NET CHAMPIONSHIP: June 22, 2019, John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor, ME.

CAPE ELIZABETH OPEN: September 28, 2019, Cape Elizabeth, ME location TBD.


Saturday, May 4, 2019: Downeast Open, Buxton

More Information

This tournament offers 6 Grand Prix Points.

Maine Chess Player of the Year Event 2 of 4


Saturday, May 11, 2019: John Bapst Open, Bangor

More Information


Saturday, June 22, 2019: ChessMaine.net Championship, Bangor

More Information

Maine Chess Player of the Year Event 3 of 4


Friday-Monday, October 11-14, 2019: Maritime Chess Festival, Summerside, Prince Edward Island

More Information


Saturday, December 7, 2019: 15th Annual Aurora Winter Solstice, Aurora

More Information


  • Navigation: