Three Share Title at Maine Chess Championship

05.05.12 The Maine State Chess Championship was played on April 21-22, 2012 at the Best Western Inn Plus in Waterville. After five grueling rounds three players surfaced with 4.0 points and shared state championship honors: Jarod Bryan, Matthew Fishbein and Aaron Spencer. Congratulations to our newest state champions!

FIDE Master Jarod Bryan (left) plays Matthew Fishbein in round 4 of the Maine State Chess Championship played on April 21-22, 2012 in Waterville.

Thanks to Dan Fishbein, Andy Bryan and Phil Lowell for contributing to this report.

After two long days of chess, it came down to the final game became Jarod Bryan and Josh Quint to decide the final standings. Quint needed the win to match Matthew Fishbein's and Aaron Spencer's total of 4.0 points, while Bryan only needed a draw. Quint resigned himself to the draw as time was winding down for both players. Fishbein's only blemish was a loss to Bryan, while Spencer's only defeat was a loss to Fishbein. Bryan went undefeated with three wins and two draws. With each player posting 4.0 points Bryan, Fishbein and Spencer will share the title of 2012 Maine State Champion. On the strength of opponent tiebreak Fishbein earned the 1st place plaque. This was the 54th consecutive state championship and the first three-way tie.

Class prizes went to John Phythion in Class A, Jon Buxton in Class B, Lee Doucette and Isaac Marnik in Class C, and Dan Lavallee and Bill Loring in Class D. The 29 players played five rounds of Game/120 at the Best Western Inn Plus in Waterville. The accommodations were excellent this year, and we hope to return there next year.

The next MECA chess player of the year event is in Portland. Spencer (16.0) jumped to second in the standings, while Lance Beloungie, competing in his 3rd tournament, took over first with 17.5 points.

Thanks to Tournamnet Director Phil Lowell and tournament organizer Lee Doucette on running an excellent State Championship.

Portland Press Herald staff writer Glenn Jordan wrote an interesting article highlighting Matthew Fishbein as Maine's newest state co-champion. You can read his article here.

USCF crosstable of this event

2012 Maine State Co-champion Aaron Spencer (right) plays Mark Woida.

Tournament organizer Lee Doucette (left) vs John Jones.

Dan Lavallee (foreground right) plays John Brady while Bill Gallagher (background right) takes on Jon Buxton.

Just off the lead: Joshua Quint (left) and John Phythyon scored 3.5 points along with Jon Buxton to share 4th-6th place.

Darrell Salisbury (left) matches wits with Rob Shore.

Steve Abrahams (left) vs Isaac Marnik

Brian Roderick (right) got the best of Steve Kaluzynski in this one.

Curt Brock (left) and Bill Loring both chalked up 2.5 points.

Maine Chess Association President Andy Bryan (right) plays Joseph Fishman in round 4.

Lance Beloungie (left) takes on Jim DuBois.

Thanks again to all players and organizers of this year's state championship!


This was a nice clean site for a tournament. The playing room was well lit. It was convenient to the interstate for those from away. The most important factor for me was the convenience of restaurants within walking distance or short drives. Hopefully tournaments will be held in this centrally located city in the future.

Congratulations to the three new state champions!

Post a comment

  • Navigation: