WCC R1: An Exciting Trompowsky Ends in a Draw

11.11.16 Magnus Carlsen surprised his opponent by playing the Trompowsky (1.d4 Nf6 2.Bg5) in the first game of the World Chess Championship and got a lead on the clock as Karjakin had to step carefully in a well-prepared line. After exchanging bishop for knight and doubling Black's pawns on the f-file, White had some advantage throughout the middle game but Karjakin kept his cool and steered the game into safe waters. In the post-game press conference, both players mentioned that they heard crowd noises during the game and at one point during the game Carlsen looked up from the board suddenly and gazed out into the audience.



World Champion Magnus Carlsen (left) and Challenger Sergey Karjakin during the first game of their world championship match.
images courtesy worldchess.com


score graphic courtesy chess24.com


The players speak with the press and audience after the game.

Replay Game 1

The match will consist of 12 games. The first player to reach 6.5 points will be declared winner and World Champion. If, after 12 rounds, the score is even, the Match will be decided by a series of tie break games.

Official site of the World Chess Championship

How to watch the Match

Complete rules the Match

Tickets to attend the Match in person


Schedule
All games begin at 2:00 p.m. New York City time

Thursday, November 10 Opening Ceremony

Friday, November 11 Game 1

Saturday, November 12 Game 2

Sunday, November 13 Rest Day

Monday, November 14 Game 3

Tuesday, November 15 Game 4

Wednesday, November 16 Rest Day

Thursday, November 17 Game 5

Friday, November 18 Game 6

Saturday, November 19 Rest Day

Sunday, November 20 Game 7

Monday, November 21 Game 8

Tuesday, November 22 Rest Day

Wednesday, November 23 Game 9

Thursday, November 24 Game 10

Friday, November 25 Rest Day

Saturday, November 26 Game 11

Sunday, November 27 Rest Day

Monday, November 28 Game 12

Tuesday, November 29 Rest Day

Wednesday, November 30 Tie Breaks/ClosingCeremony


Post a comment


  • Navigation: