WCC Bonn Round 8: 39-Move Draw

10.24.08 With each passing round the World Championship Match is moving inexorably toward its conclusion. In order for Kramnik to send the match to tiebreaks he would have to hold Anand to only one draw over the next four games. After round 8 it's Anand 5.5 Kramnik 2.5.

Like a tectonic plate, Vishy Anand: slow, deliberate, relentless

Match Score

 

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

 

Anand

½

½

1

½

1

1

½

½

 

 

 

 

5.5

Kramnik

½

½

0

½

0

0

½

½

 

 

 

 

2.5

Images courtesy ChessBase.com and uep-chess.com

World Chess Championship

World Champion Viswanathan Anand vs. challenger Vladimir Kramnik

Watch Live Games Here

The match consists of twelve games, played under classical time controls: 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, 60 minutes for the next 20 moves and then 15 minutes for the rest of the game plus an additional 30 seconds per move starting from move 61.

When: October 14 - November 02, 2008
Where: Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany in Bonn
Prize fund: 1.5 million Euro (= US $2.35 million)
Patron: German Finance Minister Peer Steinbrück
Main sponsor: Evonik Industries AG

Schedule

Game 1: Tuesday October 14 Replay Game 1
Game 2: Wednesday October 15 Replay Game 2
Free Day: Thursday October 16
Game 3: Friday October 17 Replay Game 3
Game 4: Saturday October 18 Replay Game 4
Free Day: Sunday October 19
Game 5: Monday October 20 Replay Game 5
Game 6: Tuesday October 21 Replay Game 6
Free Day: Wednesday October 22
Game 7: Thursday October 23 Replay Game 7
Game 8: Friday October 24 Replay Game 8
Free Day: Saturday October 25
Game 9: Sunday October 26
Game 10: Monday October 27
Free Day: Tuesday October 30
Game 11 Wednesday October 29
Free Day Thursday October 30
Game 12: Friday October 31
Free Day: Saturday November 1
Tiebreak: Sunday November 2


More Details of the World Championship Match Here


Round 8 underway with the first move being made by German Finance Minister Peer Steinbrück.


Post a comment


  • Navigation: